The return of Match.com

I left Match.com quite a long time ago, but one of their strategies is to keep your profile up there and let people contact you–even though YOU can’t post any more.  If you like them, you may pay to get back in.

 

For some reason I am very popular this month.  I have resisted the urge to answer the men who have contacted me.

They are all the disgusting same.

 

I want to say, “Who do you think you ARE, to post that you are 60 and will accept dates with women 21 to 55?” Or, “If you can’t handle your peers, you can’t handle me.” Or, “Not only is what you are doing sexist bullshit, I won’t date a much older man because I have already been a widow.”

 

 

But I don’t want t engage them in conversation.

 

But it is really depressing–most of the men looking for a 50 ish woman are in their 60s or 70s. Men in their 50s somehow think they are an appropriate match for women in their 20s or 30s.  I never believed it, and now I am getting messages and messages and messages showing me this is true.

 

There’s a part of me wishing I had never signed on to Match, but it is at odds with the part of me that KNOWS I needed to experience this to believe it.  And it is important to believe that this horrible sexism exists.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

